were few and far between until the 1930s and 1940s. These were the
Queen St. Mosque and the St. James Masjid which was the gift of Haji
Gokool Meah. There was one in San Fernando on Mucurapo St as early as
1910 but the majority were converted dwelling houses which were unique
in local architecture since the domes and minarets were of tin and were
very quaint in appearance. This example seen in Penal (1283 SS Erin Road, Batchiya Village) in the 1950s
stood along the main road opposite the public cemetery until it was
replaced in the 1960s by an elaborate and more orthodox concrete mosque.