PENAL DWELLING HOUSE CONVERTED INTO A MOSQUE
Virtual Museum of T & TView all articles by Virtual Museum of T & T
Masjids were few and far between until the 1930s and 1940s. These were the Queen St. Mosque and the St. James Masjid which was the gift of Haji Gokool Meah. There was one in San Fernando on Mucurapo St as early as 1910 but the majority were converted dwelling houses which were unique in local architecture since the domes and minarets were of tin and were very quaint in appearance. This example seen in Penal (1283 SS Erin Road, Batchiya Village) in the 1950s stood along the main road opposite the public cemetery until it was replaced in the 1960s by an elaborate and more orthodox concrete mosque.